Stereotyped

What is a stereotype? According to google, a stereotype is “a widely held but fixed and oversimplified image or idea of a particular type of person or thing.” True we have similarities to certain groups, nationalities, and clubs but within those types we are unique, worthy human beings. As humans beings, do we stereotype ourselves? I mean, think about the descriptions we put of ourselves on social media sites. On Instagram we are allowed small blurbs upon our wall to describe ourselves. How are we supposed to describe ourselves with a word limit? Isn’t a picture worth a thousand words and aren’t our lives more than just a pretty picture? Some of us have cracks in the frame or little mistakes within our colorful details.

In Jessie J’s new song Masterpiece she sings:

I still fall on my face sometimes
And I can’t colour inside the lines
‘Cause I’m perfectly incomplete
I’m still working on my masterpiece

Aren’t we all working on our self image? It feels good to associate yourself with good things but it’s hard to show others that you don’t fit into the category they already put you in. The best way to break out of the box of conformity is to stop stereotyping in general. Allow others to be themselves and they will do the same for you.

Jessie J’s song continues:

And I, I wanna hang with the greats
Got a way to go, but it’s worth the wait
No, you haven’t seen the best of me
I’m still working on my masterpiece

Let’s all continue to work on our masterpiece and support one another as we do it.

Thanks!

AR

Find the complete lyrics here: http://www.azlyrics.com/lyrics/jessiej/masterpiece.html

Thank

Let

Leave a Reply

